books

The books of 2010

After keeping track of what I read in 2008, I didn’t meet my goal in 2009 to read, on average, a book a week.  The reason behind the goal wasn’t for the sake of reading 52 books, but because I wanted to establish a regular habit of reading instead of going through spurts of books.  I love to read and it’s one of the best ways that I can unwind and relax, so I think it’s healthy to set aside some time every night to get lost in a book.  I got through a lot of pages in 2010, but I still didn’t quite make it to 52.

So just like the past couple years, here is what I read in 2010.  And just like last year…

bold = read it!  it’s good.
normal = neutral.  neither highly recommended nor disliked.
strikethrough = bad.  don’t bother.

  1. The Book Thief (Markus Zusak)
  2. The Glass Castle (Jeannette Wells)
  3. Daughter of China (Hope C. Flinchbaugh)
  4. Across the China Sky (Hope C. Flinchbaugh)
  5. I’ll Cross The River (Hope C. Flinchbaugh)
  6. Safely Home (Randy Alcorn)
  7. The Bronze Bow (Elizabeth George Spear)
  8. Dear John (Nicholas Sparks)
  9. The Lightning Thief (Rick Riordan)
  10. The Sea of Monsters (Rick Riordan)
  11. Change of Heart (Jodi Picoult)
  12. Keeping Faith (Jodi Picoult)
  13. The Righteous Men (Sam Bourne)
  14. Into The Wild (Jon Krakauer)
  15. Living Water (Brother Yun)
  16. Julie (Catherine Marshall)
  17. Sarah’s Key (Tatiana de Rosnay)
  18. Water For Elephants (Sara Gruen)
  19. Half Broke Horses (Jeannette Wells)
  20. Travels With Herodotus (Ryszard Kapuscinski)
  21. Save Me From Myself: How I Found God, Quit Korn, Kicked Speed, and Lived to Tell The Tale (Brian ‘Head’ Welch)
  22. Serve The People!: A Novel (Yan Lianke)
  23. Son of Hamas: A Gripping Account of Terror, Betrayal, Political Intrigue, and Unthinkable Choices (Mosab Hassan Yousef)
  24. Growing Up bin Laden: Osama’s Wife and Son Take Us Inside Their Secret World (Najwa bin Laden)
  25. The Lost Daughters of China (Karin Evans)
  26. The Accidental Billionaires: The Founding Of Facebook (Ben Mezrich)
  27. The Help (Kathryn Stockett)
  28. Between Two Worlds: My Life and Captivity In Iran (Roxana Saberi)
  29. I Am Nujood, Age 10 And Divorced (Nujood Ali)
  30. Stones Into Schools: Promoting Peace With Books, Not Bombs, In Afghanistan and Pakistan (Greg Mortenson)
  31. Shanghai Girls (Lisa See)
  32. The Five Love Languages For Singles (Gary Chapman)
  33. Men Are Like Waffles – Women Are Like Spaghetti (Bill Farrel)
  34. Father Fiction: Chapters For a Fatherless Generation (Donald Miller)
  35. Secret Believers: What Happens When Muslims Believe In Christ (Brother Andrew)
  36. Somewhere Inside: One Sister’s Captivity in North Korea and the Other’s Fight to Bring Her Home (Laura Ling)
  37. Peony In Love (Lisa See)
  38. Snow Flower and the Secret Fan (Lisa See)
  39. Honeymoon In Tehran: Two Years of Love and Danger In Iran (Azadeh Moaveni)
  40. Slave (Mende Nazer)
  41. In The Land of Invisible Women: A Female Doctor’s Journey in the Saudi Kingdom (Qanta A. Ahmed)
  42. A Time To Betray (Reza Kahlili)
  43. Plain Truth (Jodi Picoult)
  44. My Prison, My Home (Haleh Esfandiari)
  45. In The Name of Honor (Mukhtar Mai)
  46. Juliet (Anne Fortier)
  47. True Believer (Nicholas Sparks)
  48. America By Heart: Reflections on Family, Faith, And Flag (Sarah Palin)
  49. Life In Spite Of Me (Kristen J. Andersen)

What are some good books you read this year?  I keep track of the books I read at Goodreads, a sort of social networking site for readers.  If you want, create your own account, see what everyone’s reading, and follow me there.

Standard

2 thoughts on “The books of 2010

  1. Ria Rakis / Justice Pirate says:

    I’ve seen the movie for True Believer and enjoyed it! Unless I’m thinking a completely different story. Does it have to do with lawyers and such?

    I still want to read that book Slave. Hopefully this year. You read a LOT of good books this year, it seems. That’s excellent. I love when you put out your lists. I put out my list today too. I guess I liked the Nujood book more than you did. I need to eventually read the rest of the Percy Jackson books. I’m thinking I will watch Water For Elephants the movie when it comes out and afterwards read the book. I tend to feel better reading books after seeing their films rather than complaining and being mad while watching a movie because it isn’t like the book. hahaha. I’m more of a movie person than book person though, I think. I hated the Dear John movie. Would I like the book more?

    I find it cute that you read a book called Julie.

    I look forward to seeing what more you read!! If you ever want, you can borrow my Dug Down Deep book.

    • jules says:

      I think the book True Believer and the movie share the same name by chance. The book is by Nicholas Sparks, and I don’t think it’s been converted to the big screen yet.

      It is fun to see what others read. I’ll have to check out your list! I haven’t seen the Dear John movie, but the book was decent. If I remember correctly, I think the movie and the book have different endings.

      My goal is to first finish the books I have out of the library, and then read the books I own that I haven’t read yet… and then work on my “to-read” list. So when all that is done, I would love to borrow your copy of Dug Down Deep! Is it good?

Leave a comment